ARCA Lap by Lap: Lucas Oil 200 won by John Wes Townley

by Ashley McCubbin On Sat, Feb. 16, 2013

Photo Credit: Eric Uprichard/

Photo Credit: Eric Uprichard/

In a dramatic change of events late in the race, pole sitter John Wes Townley would grab the lead in the Lucas Oil 200, taking the victory at Daytona International Speedway. It marked the first win for Townley in ARCA and the first win for Venturini Motorsports in their 31 years of racing at Daytona.


Lap 1 – Milka Duno leads John Wes Townley

Lap 2 – Tom Hessert has problems

Lap 3 – Duno leads Townley

Lap 5 – Duno leads Townley, Bobby Gerhart, Julien Jousse, Ricky Ehrgott

Lap 7 – Ehrgott passes Jousse for fourth as Jousse moves up to get air into the front grill.

Caution Lap 10 Julien Jousse blows the motor up……Leaders pit. Bobby Gerhart first off pit road ahead of John Wes Townley. Some cars stayed out. Chris Buescher stalled on track – no fire, no spark. Serious electrical issues.Grant Enfinger broke a yoke off the driveshaft.

Restart lap 18 as Josh Williams has the lead after not pitting.

Lap 19 Williams and Gerhart side-by-side for the lead.

Lap 20 Wreck – Darrell Wallace Jr., Steve Kemp, Justin Boston, Brett Hudson, Drew Charlson, Wallace Jr., Mason Mitchell, Caleb Armstrong, Clay Campbell got into the back of Boston, turning sideways and starting the wreck. Wallace made contact with Boston as the field began to accordion. Chris Buescher back on track after changing the ignition box.

“I don’t know what to say. I just ran into the back of him. Just disappointing.” Bubba Wallace

“It’s definitely a tough deal to come down and race and end up with a torn racecar. It sucks that we have two torn up cars. It’s just disappointing.” Boston

Restart Lap 26 as Bobby Gerhart leads John Wes Townley. Milka Duno has problems. Will Kimmell just blew a tire.

Caution lap 27 for debris. Milka Duno to the garage. The tranny linkage got stuck. She got back on track, five laps down.

Restart lap 31 Gerhart leads Townley, Praytor. Buescher, who is many laps down, to help Gerhart.

Lap 33 Gerhart leads Praytor, Townely, Boat, Ehrgott. Townley passes Praytor with help.

Lap 37 Ehrgott passes Boat for fourth, Larson is in sixth.

Lap 38 Gerhart leads Townley, Praytor, Ehrgott and Larson as Boat falls through the field.


27 to go Through lap traffic, Ehrgott and Larson get by Praytor.

26 to go Gerhart leads Townley, Prayor, Ehrgott, Larson and Praytor

7 to go Buescher slid up track, Gerhart down pit road full speed after possible contact from behind, Townley to the lead ahead of Larson, Ehrgott.

John Wes Townley wins. Larson. Gerhart. Kimmel. Corr. Newberry. Mingus. Thompson. Kurzejewski. Boat.

** The opinions expressed on this site are not necessarily those of the publisher. All comments other than website related problems need to be directed to the author. (c) **

Leave a comment

Free Shipping on Orders Over $25 at

Copyright © All rights reserved. - Partner of USA TODAY Sports Digital Properties.