Tyler Reddick Wins 2018 NASCAR Xfinity Series Championship

Reddick Also Captures Sunoco Rookie of the Year Honors; Chevrolet Crowned As Manufacturer Champion

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Nov. 17, 2018) – Following an outstanding rookie season, Tyler Reddick is now the NASCAR Xfinity Series champion.

The driver of the No. 9 JR Motorsports Chevrolet capped off an extraordinary season in grand fashion – by capturing the 2018 NASCAR Xfinity Series championship with a stirring victory in Saturday’s Ford EcoBoost 300 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

To take the title, Reddick outdueled his Championship 4 competitors Cole Custer (second), Daniel Hemric (fourth) and Christopher Bell (11th).

Shop the NASCAR Justice League Collection
Shop for 2017 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Gear at Store.NASCAR.com

The Corning, California native showed his talent on the racetrack throughout the entire season and won the opening race of the season at Daytona in the closest finish in NASCAR national series history, immediately securing his spot in the Playoffs.

Once the Playoffs began, Reddick upped his performance to another level, recording a top-10 finish in all but one postseason race. Reddick finished the season with two wins, seven top fives and 20 top 10s.

Reddick was also crowned the 2018 NASCAR Xfinity Series Sunoco Rookie of the Year.

The title is the second consecutive driver championship for JR Motorsports and third in the last five years. The team also won the 2014 title with Chase Elliott and 2017 with William Byron.

The No. 00 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford won the 2018 NASCAR Xfinity Series Owner Championship, finishing second ahead of fellow Championship 4 owner contenders No. 20, No. 21 and No. 42. It is the first NASCAR Xfinity Series owner championship for Stewart-Haas Racing.

On the strength of 15 victories, Chevrolet won the 2018 NASCAR Xfinity Series Manufacturer Championship.


The National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing, Inc. (NASCAR) is the sanctioning body for the No. 1 form of motorsports in the United States. NASCAR consists of three national series (Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series™, NASCAR Xfinity Series™, and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series™), three regional series, one local grassroots series, three international series and the Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA). The International Motor Sports Association™ (IMSA®) governs the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship™, the premier U.S. sports car series. Based in Daytona Beach, Fla., with offices in eight cities across North America, NASCAR sanctions more than 1,200 races in more than 30 U.S. states, Canada, Mexico and Europe. For more information visit www.NASCAR.com and www.IMSA.com, and follow NASCAR on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Snapchat (‘NASCAR’).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here