Keselowski garners Richard Petty Driver of the Year Award from NMPA

By Official Release On Mon, Jan. 21, 2013

NMPACHARLOTTE — Brad Keselowski brought new glory to Penske Racing during the 2012 NASCAR Sprint Cup season.

Keselowski won five races to earn his first Sprint Cup title, and the first for team owner Roger Penske. For his efforts he has been named the National Motorsports Press Association Richard Petty Driver of the Year.

It is the first time the membership of the NMPA has voted Keselowski as the winner of the award, which has been given since 1969.

The announcement was made Jan. 20 during the NMPA’s annual convention in Charlotte, N.C.

“It truly is an honor to receive the Driver of the Year Award from the National Motorsports Press Association,” said Keselowski. “They are the voice of our sport. I really feel as though I should be honoring them because many of these individuals are with us every weekend of a long season. I am proud of the mutual respect that I share with this group.”

During the 2012 season, Keselowski earned two of his five wins during the Chase for the Sprint Cup. He earned 23 top-10 finishes, 13 of them top fives.

Also receiving votes were fellow Cup competitor Clint Bowyer and Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series national champion Jimmy Owens.

The award, named in honor of NASCAR’s all-time win leader, is determined by a vote of the NMPA membership. Previous winners are:

2011 – Tony Stewart

2010 – Jimmie Johnson

2009 – Jimmie Johnson

2008 – Carl Edwards

2007 – Jimmie Johnson

2006 – Jimmie Johnson

2005 – Tony Stewart

2004 – Jimmie Johnson

2003 – Ryan Newman

2002 – Tony Stewart

2001 – Kevin Harvick

2000 – Bobby Labonte

1999 – Dale Jarrett

1998 – Jeff Gordon

1997 – Dale Jarrett

1996 – Terry Labonte

1995 – Jeff Gordon

1994 – Dale Earnhardt

1993 – Rusty Wallace

1992 – Davey Allison

1991 – Harry Gant

1990 – Dale Earnhardt

1989 – Mark Martin

1988 – Rusty Wallace

1987 – Dale Earnhardt

1986 – Tim Richmond and Dale Earnhardt

1985 – Bill Elliott

1984 – Terry Labonte

1983 – Bobby Allison

1982 – Darrell Waltrip

1981 – Darrell Waltrip

1980 – Dale Earnhardt

1979 – Cale Yarborough

1978 – Cale Yarborough

1977 – Cale Yarborough

1976 – Darrell Waltrip

1975 – Richard Petty

1974 – Richard Petty

1973 – David Pearson

1972 – Bobby Allison

1971 – Bobby Allison

1970 – Bobby Issac

1969 – LeeRoy Yarbrough

Official Release (16234 Posts)

The opinions expressed on this site are not necessarily those of the publisher. All comments other than website related problems need to be directed to the author. (c)

Leave a comment

breitling replica replica breitling rolex replica watches
replica rolex watches replica breitling watches breitling replica watches replica watches
louis vuitton replica replica louis vuitton

Copyright © All rights reserved. - Partner of USA TODAY Sports Digital Properties.