John Wes Townley wins ARCA Lucas Oil 150 Giving Venturini First Daytona Victory

by Ashley McCubbin On Sat, Feb. 16, 2013

Photo Credit: David Yeazell

Photo Credit: David Yeazell

For 30 years, Venturini Motorsports has been a fixture in the ARCA Racing Series. However, one thing has alluded them – winning at Daytona International Speedway. That all changed in their 31st year at Daytona as John Wes Townley took the victory in the Lucas Oil 150.

“This is just a great day for Venturini  Motorsports,” Townley said. “This is priceless. I almost wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world. It’s a real honor.”

It also marks the first career victory for Townley.

“I’m exastic,” Townley said in victory lane. “I have no words to say.I just got to thank Zaxby’s and Venturini Motorsports for this opportunity. It’s one thing to win your first race in ARCA, it’s another to win at Daytona.”

Townley was in second place with seven laps to go while Bobby Gerhart led. However, as the field came off turn four, Gerhart slowed immediately, moving to the inside which allowed Townley to get by.

“I don’t know what happened,” Townley said of Gerhart. “At some point, he got out of the throttle.”

Gerhart would stall on the inside of the track a lap later, out of gas. There’d be no caution due to his Chevrolet being out of the way. Townley then held off rookie Kyle Larson to take the checkered flag.

“Well, as far as I know, we just had luck on our side,” Townley said. “At a place like this, that’s just what you need. You just need to bide your time and not do anything stupid.”

Townley had taken a break from racing due to having a season of multiple wrecks in the NASCAR Nationwide Series, however returned to tackle the ARCA schedule this year with Venturini Motorsports.

“Realized at some point, when you quit something you never get any better,” he said. “So I decided to come back out here.”

Venturini Motorsports car owner Billy Venturini says the win is the most meaningful in his family’s entire racing career.

“This is the first time I cried in victory lane,” he said. “This was definitely the highlight of our entire racing career. I think we’ve won at just about every other track we go to except here.”

Meanwhile, young Kyle Larson would finish the race second on the road to getting ready to run the Nationwide Series opener next weekend.

“It wasn’t a bad race,” Larson said. “I had a good time and I’m really looking forward to the NASCAR Nationwide Series race next weekend.”

Larson had tried planning a move with other drivers, but it just wasn’t there.

“The race went pretty smooth,” he said. “But, I couldn’t really make any moves. I was wide open. We’ll take second.”

Coulter Motorsports driver Ricky Ehrgott finished third, followed by Frank Kimmel and Sean Corr. Brennan Newberry finished sixth, followed by Mason Mingus, Mark Thompson, Matt Kurzejewski and Chad Boat.

The 150 mile race saw three cautions, including a big wreck involving eight drivers. On lap 20, Darrell Wallace Jr. would get into the back of of his Venturini Motorsports teammate Justin Boston, causing to go sideways, collecting Steve Kemp, Brett Hudson, Drew Charlson, Mason Mitchell, Caleb Armstrong and Martinsville Speedway President Clay Campbell.

“I don’t know what to say,” Wallace Jr. said. “I just ran into the back of him. Just disappointing.”

“It’s definitely a tough deal to come down and race and end up with a torn racecar,” Boston said. “It sucks that we have two torn up cars. It’s just disappointing.”

The first caution came out on lap 10 for Julien Jousse blowing a motor while the third caution came out on lap 27 for debris after Will Kimmel blew a motor.

Milka Duno, who started second in her Venturini Motorsports Toyota, led the race early on till the first pit stop at lap 18. She would have transmission problems on lap 27, causing her to go behind the wall for five laps.

Another driver with bad luck was Chris Buescher as he went behind the wall for six laps due to electrical issues.


Race Results

2013 ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards Event #1    
Daytona Int’l Speedway, Daytona Beach Florida, 2-16-13    
Lucas Oil 200 presented by MAVTV American Real    
Final Results
1 1 15 John Wes Townley/Watkinsville GA Zaxby’s Toyota 80 Running
2 11 4 Kyle Larson/Elk Grove CA Cessna Chevrolet 80 Running
3 7 16 Ricky Ehrgott/New York NY Sandvik Coromant-Rev1 Power Services Chevrolet 80 Running
4 19 44 Frank Kimmel/Clarksville IN Ansell-Menards Toyota 80 Running
5 18 82 Sean Corr/Goshen NY Warriors In The Workplace-RoushYates Ford 80 Running
6 15 92 Brennan Newberry/Bakersfield CA Fight For Life Chevrolet 80 Running
7 9 32 Mason Mingus/Brentwood TN 811 Call Before You Dig-Diamond Equipment Toyota 80 Running
8 16 62 Mark Thompson/Cartersville GA Phoenix Air Chevrolet 80 Running
9 29 54 Matt Kurzejewski/Mansfield PA Costy’s Energy Services-Lexington Daytona Dodge 80 Running
10 12 52 Chad Boat/Phoenix AZ Curb Records Chevrolet 80 Running
11 14 22 Michel Disdier/Nice France Dodge 80 Running
12 10 77 Tom Hessert/Cherry Hill NJ Barbera’s Autoland-Cunningham Motorsports Dodge 80 Running
13 23 99 Mason Mitchell/W. Des Moines IA Roulo Brothers Racing Ford 80 Running
14 24 08 Clay Campbell/Martinsville VA Mountain Dew Ford 80 Running
15 30 02 Josh Williams/Port Charlotte FL Southwest Florida Cable Construction Ford 80 Running
16 22 42 Bo Lemastus/Louisville KY Crosley Radio Dodge 80 Running
17 40 88 Buster Graham/Lafayette LA Don Mashburn Inc Ford 79 Running
18 26 19 Donnie Neuenberger/Edgewater MD Eagle Convenience Stores Chevrolet 79 Running
19 28 75 Benny Chastain/Tallahassee FL Bob Schacht Motorsports Chevrolet 79 Running
20 39 06 Dexter Stacy/Kahnawake Quebec Maddie’s Place Chevrolet 79 Running
21 32 23 Spencer Gallagher/Las Vegas NV Allegiant Air Chevrolet 79 Running
22 34 2 Thomas Praytor/Mobile AL ARCA Mobile 200-RoushYates Ford 78 Running
23 37 34 Rick Clifton/Circleville OH BASF Chevrolet 78 Running
24 25 30 Terry Jones/Amherstburg Ontario J-ARR Excavating Dodge 78 Running
25 36 10 Ed Pompa/Ballston Spa NY Milton Cat-Double H Ranch Chevrolet 77 Running
26 38 48 James Hylton/Inman SC Ford 77 Running
27 31 97 Roger Carter/Sunfield MI Speedway Dodge 76 Running
28 2 35 Milka Duno/Caracas Venezuela CANTV-Milka Way Toyota 76 Running
29 3 5 Bobby Gerhart/Lebanon PA MAVTV TV American Real Chevrolet 75 Fuel Pump
30 8 17 Chris Buescher/Prosper TX Roulo Brothers Racing Ford 74 Running
31 13 25 Justin Boston/Baltimore MD ZLOOP Computer & Electronics Recycling Centers Toyota 41 Accident
32 35 40 Galen Hassler/Columbia MO Dodge 39 Engine
33 20 68 Will Kimmel/Sellersburg IN Gary Yeomans-Clarksville Schwinn Ford 26 Accident
34 21 6 Caleb Armstrong/New Castle IN Eddie Sharp Racing Chevrolet 20 Accident
35 4 55 Darrell Wallace/Mobile AL Toyota Manufacturing Toyota 19 Accident
36 27 11 Brett Hudson/Owensboro KY Hudson Performance Drivelines-Warrick Tubing Dodge 19 Accident
37 33 69 Steve Kemp/Justin TX Ford 19 Accident
38 17 3 Drew Charlson/New Bremen OH Aluma Aluminum Trailers Chevrolet 19 Accident
39 6 09 Grant Enfinger/Fairhope AL Motor Ford 12 Rear End
40 5 94 Julien Jousse/St. Tropez France Dave Leiner Toyota 9 Engine
Menards Pole Award Presented by Ansell:  John Wes Townley 49.638 (181.313 mph)
Margin of Victory:  0.173 seconds Cautions:  3 for 19 laps
Time of Race:  1:29:18 Average Speed:  135.900 mph
Lap Leaders:  Duno 1-11 (11); Townley 12, 73-80 (9); Kurzejewski 13-14 (2); Williams 15-17 (3); Gerhart 18-72 (55)
** The opinions expressed on this site are not necessarily those of the publisher. All comments other than website related problems need to be directed to the author. (c) **

Leave a comment

Free Shipping on Orders Over $25 at

Copyright © All rights reserved. - Partner of USA TODAY Sports Digital Properties.