Greg Pursley and Derek Thorn win K&N Pro Series UNOH Battle of the Beach Heats

by Ashley McCubbin On Tue, Feb. 19, 2013

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Photo Credit: Getty Images

The UNOH Battle of the Beach K&N Pro Series edition would begin on Tuesday with the heats, seeing K&N West Series regulars Greg Pursley and Derek Thorn collect the victories. Pursley would win the coin toss to therefore start his heat on the inside, while Thorn’s heat group will start on the outside.

In the first heat, Pursley started on pole and never looked back, leading the entire race to take the victory. The Newhall, California native led practice earlier in the day and finished second last year in points. Cameron Hayley finished second, followed by CJ Faison, David Mayhew and Dylan Kwasniewski.

The race would feature three cautions with the first caution on lap five for UNOH Battle of the Beach NASCAR Whelen All American Series Late Model winner Kyle Larson being spun by Canadian Tire Series competitor Martin Roy. The second caution came out on lap 13 for Chuck Buchanan Jr. spinning by himself. The third caution would come with nine laps to go when Dalton Zehr got spun by Sergio Pena.

There would also be a wreck on the final lap after John Hunter Nemechek got into 2012 NASCAR Canadian Tire Series Champion D.J. Kennington, sending him around,  collecting Pena.

In the second heat, Derek Thorn would start on the pole and lead the entire 25 lap heat. Ben Kennedy would finish second. Kennedy, great-grandson of NASCAR founder Bill France Sr., is the first member of the France family to race at the legendary Daytona track. Cale Conley finished third, followed by Gray Goulding and Michael Self.

The second heat featured one caution on lap two for NASCAR Mexico Series Champion Jorge Goeters.

The feature race for the K&N Pro Series is scheduled for an approximate 8:30 p.m. start following the completion of the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour event. Coverage on SPEED and MRN will begin at 7 p.m. this evening.


NKNPS Daytona 2/19/13 Qualifying


Pos No. Name Sponsor Laps
1 6 Derek Thorn Sunrise Ford/Lucas Oil/Eibach 25
2 96 Ben Kennedy EMCO/Mac Tools/Mechanix Wear 25
3 47 Cale Conley Tait Towers 25
4 20 Gray Gaulding* Krispy Kreme 25
5 21 Michael Self Golden Gate Meat Co./Bay Bio Diesel 25
6 07 Corey LaJoie UNOH 25
7 4 Bryan Ortiz Putinka Vodka 25
8 92 Ander Vilarino* Euro Racecar NASCAR Touring Series 25
9 37 Dylan Presnell American Mountain Rentals/Amtrol 25
10 72 Carl Harr West World Computers 25
11 2 Ryan Gifford Sunoco/Langley Speedway 25
12 77 Austin Self* AM Technical Solutions 25
13 0 Jorge Goeters* NASCAR Toyota Mexico Series


Pos No. Name Sponsor Laps
1 26 Greg Pursley GPM/Star Nursery/Real Water 25
2 24 Cameron Hayley Cabinets by Hayley/GPM 25
3 39 C J Faison Sherwin Williams 25
4 17 David Mayhew MMI Services/Ron’s Rear Ends 25
5 98 Dylan Kwasniewski Rockstar Engery Drink/Royal Purple Oil 25
6 71 Daryl Harr i World 25
7 8 John Hunter Nemechek* AM/FM Energy 25
8 69 Kyle Larson Curb Records 25
9 16 Sergio Pena NAPA Auto Parts 25
10 90 Martin Roy* King Auto Sport Canada 25
11 36 Dalton Zehr* Whelen Engineering 25
12 19 Chuck Buchanan Jr.* Spring Drug 25
13 28 D J Kennington N.P.P./NAPA Know How 24
14 00 Tyler Reddick* Ken Schrader Racing 21
** The opinions expressed on this site are not necessarily those of the publisher. All comments other than website related problems need to be directed to the author. (c) **

Leave a comment

Free Shipping on Orders Over $25 at

Copyright © All rights reserved. - Partner of USA TODAY Sports Digital Properties.