25 Winning Years — April 14, 2002 – Roush Fenway Places Four Cars in Top 10 at Martinsville

25 Winning Years: April 14, 2002 – Roush Fenway Places Four Cars in Top 10 at Martinsville

RFR has won four Cup races at Martinsville; Spring 2002 might have been team’s strongest effort at track

This season Roush Fenway Racing celebrates its ’25 Winning Years.’ As part of the program each week a different moment from the team’s legacy will be highlighted in the 25 Winning Years segment.

American Muscle

MARTINSVILLE, Va. (March 31, 2012) – Roush Fenway Racing has won four times in the Sprint Cup Series at the paper-clip oval of Martinsville Speedway, but it might have posted its strongest Martinsville outing just over a decade ago on April 14, 2002 when RFR placed all four of its Ford Taurus’ inside the top 10.

Matt Kenseth led the way with a runner-up finish; his career best at Martinsville. Mark Martin brought the No. 6 Ford home in eighth, while Jeff Burton was 9th and Kurt Busch 10th. Roush Fenway used the outing to leave Martinsville second and third in the Cup point standings, en route to a runner up finish in the final standings and three RFR Fords would go on to finish inside the top 10 in the 2002.

All in all Roush Fenway has won six times in NASCAR action at Martinsville, with five different drivers. RFR has four wins in the Cup series at Martinsville, split between three drivers (Burton, Martin and Busch), with Martin winning twice. Martin earned RFR’s first NASCAR victory at Martinsville in 1992.

RFR posted a one-two finish at Martinsville in 2000 – with Martin and Burton claiming the first two positions – but will look to place two cars in the top five this weekend at Martinsville, for the first time since that day.

Roush Fenway has also won twice at Martinsville in the NASCAR truck Series, with Jon Wood in 2003 and Ricky Craven in 2005.

Sunday’s Sprint Cup event at Martinsville is set for 1:00 p.m. EDT and will be televised live on FOX TV.

Roush Fenway Racing is the winningest team in NASCAR history, fielding multiple teams in the Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series with championship drivers Carl Edwards, Matt Kenseth, Greg Biffle, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., and Trevor Bayne. Celebrating 25 winning years in 2012, Roush Fenway is the leader in NASCAR marketing solutions, pioneering its exclusive Roush Fenway OnTrack sponsorship measurement services, motorsport’s first team-focused TV show and its award-winning social marketing channel RickyvsTrevor.com. Visit www.RoushFenway.com, become a fan on Facebook at www.facebook.com/roushfenway and follow on Twitter at @roushfenway. For sponsorship inquiries call John Bauersfeld at 704.720.4621.

Follow on Google+ at +RoushFenway, http://bit.ly/z0Uzjl

Facebook  at  www.facebook.com/roushfenway.com ,


You Tube at www.youtube.com/user/RoushFenwayVideos

Get 2 FREE stocks valued between $2.50-$1,400 when you open and fund a Webull brokerage account or earn 5% annual interest rate at Worthy.
The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of SpeedwayMedia.com.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here