Paul Menard on Pole for NASCAR Sprint Unlimited at Daytona

Paul Menard will start on the pole Saturday night for the Sprint Unlimited exhibition race at Daytona International Speedway. He was awarded the pole after a blind draw determined the starting lineup.

The 75 lap non-points race will be split into two segments. A competition caution at lap 25 will separate the segments. This year’s field will be one of the largest with 25 drivers participating. Eligible drivers include all 2014 pole award winners, all 2014 Chase drivers and former Daytona 500 pole winners who competed full-time in the 2014 Sprint Cup Season. Remaining spots were filled by the drivers highest in the 2014 points standings who are not already eligible.

Menard will lead the field to green with Kasey Kahne in the outside pole position. Teammates Joey Logano (third) and Brad Keselowski (fourth) will start on Row 2. Notables include Jeff Gordon, who, in his final season, will start in the 11th position, followed by teammates Jimmie Johnson in 17th and Dale Earnhardt Jr. in 24th.  Tony Stewart will begin from the 22nd position and Kyle Larson will bring up the rear of the field in 25th.

American Muscle

The Sprint Unlimited is set to begin Saturday evening at 8:15 p.m. ET on FOX.

The complete starting lineup for the Sprint Unlimited:

  1. Paul Menard – Richard Childress Racing
  2. Kasey Kahne – Hendrick Motorsports
  3. Joey Logano – Team Penske
  4. Brad Keselowski – Team Penske
  5. Kyle Busch – Joe Gibbs Racing
  6. Austin Dillon – Richard Childress Racing
  7. Greg Biffle – Roush Fenway Racing
  8. Kevin Harvick – Stewart-Haas Racing
  9. Denny Hamlin – Joe Gibbs Racing
  10. Martin Truex Jr. – Furniture Row Racing
  11. Jeff Gordon – Hendrick Motorsports
  12. Ryan Newman – Richard Childress Racing
  13. Kurt Busch – Stewart-Haas Racing
  14. Carl Edwards – Joe Gibbs Racing
  15. Danica Patrick – Stewart-Haas Racing
  16. Matt Kenseth – Joe Gibbs Racing
  17. Jimmie Johnson – Hendrick Motorsports
  18. Clint Bowyer – Michael Waltrip Racing
  19. Aric Almirola – Richard Petty Motorsports
  20. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. – Roush Fenway Racing
  21. Jamie McMurray – Chip Ganassi Racing
  22. Tony Stewart – Stewart-Haas Racing
  23. Casey Mears – Germain Racing
  24. Dale Earnhardt Jr. – Hendrick Motorsports
  25. Kyle Larson – Chip Ganassi Racing


Get 2 FREE stocks valued between $2.50-$1,400 when you open and fund a Webull brokerage account or earn 5% annual interest rate at Worthy.
The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here