Monsoon Mile: Qualifying Rained Out For The Sprint Cup Series At Dover

Kevin Harvick will start Sunday’s Sprint Cup race on the pole after qualifying was rained out at Dover International Speedway on Friday.

The field for Sunday’s race, as per the NASCAR rule book, was determined by the most recent practice session. Harvick was the fastest on Friday’s lone Sprint Cup practice session and will thus start on pole. Fellow Chevrolet driver Dale Earnhardt Jr. will begin the race opposite Harvick on the front row. Kyle Busch, Carl Edwards, and Ricky Stenhouse Jr. rounded out the top five.

Harvick returns to Dover for the first time since his dominating victory last fall. Going into the day all but needing to win to advance to the next round of the Chase, Harvick responded by leading 355 laps in route to a dominant first win at the “Monster Mile”. He also enters this race as the Sprint Cup Series points leader, with nine top 10s in the first 11 races this season.
American Muscle

Dale Earnhardt Jr. comes into Sunday riding a streak of eight straight top twenties at Dover but only one win 15 years ago. Earnhardt Jr. currently sits ninth in Sprint Cup Series points, ridding off the strength of three second place finishes.

Practice was also marked by a massive wreck between Danica Patrick, Tony Stewart, and Jamie McMurray. Something broke on Patrick’s car while exiting turn 4 and she spun down the front stretch while the rear of her Chevrolet caught on fire. Stewart slammed the outside wall before getting caught in Patrick’s leaked oil and smacked the inside wall hard. Meanwhile McMurray also hit the wall hard but was able to avoid the oil. All three hit walls that were not protected by SAFER barriers. All three drivers were checked and released from the media center, but the session was delayed for half an hour for repairs.

Full starting lineup for the AAA 400 Drive For Autism at Dover International Speedway:
1st Kevin Harvick
2nd Dale Earnhardt Jr.
3rd Kyle Busch
4th Carl Edwards
5th Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
6th Denny Hamlin
7th Martin Truex Jr.
8th Ryan Newman
9th Kurt Busch
10th Matt Kenseth
11th Kasey Kahne
12th Austin Dillon
13th Chase Elliott
14th Brad Keselowski
15th Aric Almirola
16th Greg Biffle
17th Brian Scott
18th Ryan Blaney
19th Paul Menard
20th AJ Allmendinger
21st Jimmie Johnson
22nd Joey Logano
23rd Kyle Larson
24th Jamie McMurray
25th Trevor Bayne
26th Casey Mears
27th David Ragan
28th Michael McDowell
29th Matt DiBenedetto
30th Chris Buescher
31st Danica Patrick
32nd Clint Bowyer
33rd Regan Smith
34th Tony Stewart
35th Landon Cassill
36th Cole Whitt
37th Michael Annett
38th Reed Sorenson
39th Jeffrey Earnhardt
40th Josh Wise

Although McMurray, Patrick, and Stewart will be going to back-up cars, they will not go to the back as NASCAR rules dictate a team can go to a back-up car as long as they switch before qualifying.

The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here