Sauter Claims Texas Pole, Quiroga Starts Second

Johnny Sauter claimed the pole for Friday night’s Rattlesnake 400 at Texas Motor Speedway, his 12th career pole and first of 2016. This is Sauter’s third career pole at Texas. Sauter took his No. 21 Smokey Mountain Snuff Chevy to the top of the charts ahead of the No. 11 of German Quiroga, who will be making his first start in the series since 2014 driving for Red Horse Racing, a team he previously raced for in 2013 and 2014.

Sauter’s GMS Racing entry took the 1.5-mile speedway in 29.996 seconds, topping Quiroga’s 30.018 elapsed time. Rounding out the top-five is the No. 19 of Daniel Hemric, who took the track in 30.022 seconds, while two-time champion Matt Crafton took the fourth spot with a 30.025 and the No. 29 of Tyler Reddick took the track in 30.050 seconds.

Sauter looks to claim his second win of 2016 following his victory at Daytona and also looks to claim his third win at Texas in the Truck Series, while Crafton looks to claim his third-straight win of 2016 and his third win at Texas overall, previously winning at the 1.5-mile speedway in June of 2014 and 2015.
American Muscle

Positions sixth through 10th were claimed by rookie William Byron, John Wes Townley, Timothy Peters, rookie Christopher Bell, and Spencer Gallagher.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here