Roush Fenway Weekly Advance – Texas

Lone Star State Next Stop for Roush Fenway Racing

Sandwiched between a stretch of short track events for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series (MENCS) stands a 1.5-mile Texas Motor Speedway this weekend. Roush Fenway Racing has visited victory lane 18 times in Texas, including nine trips in the Cup series. Both Ricky Stenhouse Jr., as well as Ryan Newman have experience crossing the stripe first as Stenhouse won the Xfinity event back in 2012, and Newman claimed his lone Cup win at the track back in 2003.

Texas Motor Speedway
Sunday, March 31 | 3 p.m. ET
FOX, PRN, SiriusXM Channel 90
· Ryan Newman, No. 6 Wyndham Rewards Ford Mustang
· Ricky Stenhouse Jr., No. 17 Fastenal Ford Mustang
American Muscle

“Dream Season”

Roush Fenway won both the first MENCS (Jeff Burton) and NASCAR Xfinity Series (Mark Martin) races at Texas in 1997. Burton began the afternoon from the fifth position and led 60 laps en route to the inaugural victory.

Houston, We Don’t Have a Problem

Roush Fenway has earned nine MENCS victories at Texas, dating back to the inaugural event in 1997. Former drivers Burton, Martin, Greg Biffle, Carl Edwards as well as Matt Kenseth have captured the checkered flag in the Lone Star State.

J.R.’s ‘08 Sweep

Edwards swept the 2008 MENCS races for Roush Fenway at Texas, leading a total of 335 laps in the two events.

9 A.M. in Dallas

Roush Fenway has started 140 MENCS races at Texas, recording a total of nine victories, 38 top-five finishes, 59 top-10 finishes, an average finish of 15.6 and has led 2,524 laps. Biffle earned Roush Fenway’s most recent victory at Texas in the April 2012 event.

North Dallas Forty

Roush Fenway has earned eight victories, 26 top-five finishes, 47 top-10 finishes and an average finish of 13th at Texas in the NASCAR Xfinity Series. Roush Fenway won three of the first four races at the 1.5-mile oval.

Jack Roush; Texas Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Member

Based on the strength of Roush Fenway’s numerous accomplishments at Texas, team owner Jack Roush was inducted into the Texas Motor Sports Hall of Fame in 2013.

Tale of the Tape

Roush Fenway has started 257 races all-time at Texas Motor Speedway, recording 18 wins, 76 top-fives and 133 top-10s. RFR Fords have captured nine poles at the 1.5-mile track and led 3500+ laps while turning more than 106,000 miles.

Where They Rank

Through six weeks on the schedule, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., ranks 12th in driver points while Newman is 19th.

Roush Fenway Texas Wins
1997 Burton Cup
1997 Martin NXS
1998 Martin Cup
1999 Martin NXS
2000 Martin NXS
2000 Biffle Truck
2002 Kenseth Cup
2005-1 Biffle Cup
2005-2 Edwards Cup
2007-1 Kenseth NXS
2008-1 Edwards Cup
2008-2 Edwards Cup
2010-2 Edwards NXS
2011-1 Edwards NXS
2011-2 Bayne NXS
2011-1 Kenseth Cup
2012-1 Biffle Cup
2012-1 Stenhouse NXS

By the Numbers at Texas Motor Speedway

Race Win T5 T10 Pole Laps Led AvSt AvFn Miles

140 9 38 59 3 44478 2524 16.6 15.6 66717

101 8 26 47 5 19350 705 12.3 13.2 29025

50 1 12 27 1 7321 290 13.1 13.2 10981.5

291 18 76 133 9 71149 3519 14.5 14.4 106724


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here