Harvick qualifies on the pole at Indy

Kevin Harvick qualified on the pole position for the Big Machine Vodka 400 at the Brickyard on Sunday with a lap of 48.44 seconds and 185.766 mph. This was Harvick’s third pole position at The Brickyard.

The Stewart-Haas Racing driver noted the importance of the starting spot in order to win the race.

“It’s very important,” Harvick said to PRN Radio. “I wish we had that first pit stall to go with it to cap off the pole with our Mobil 1 Ford Mustang, but still a great job by our guys. Track position is going to be the name of the game today, having things fall your way but you’re still going have to have the handling of your car throughout the long runs in order to keep yourself out front and to have the option to put two tires on at any point.”

American Muscle

“So there’s a number of things that’s going to come into play. The cloud cover obviously has changed things a little bit compared to the bright sun we had yesterday, so the track conditions are a little bit better today, so we’ll see how that affects the handling of the car.”

Track position isn’t the only thing that’s important today. This race is also the last chance for bubble drivers to make the Playoffs that start next weekend in Las Vegas.

Paul Menard qualified second, Clint Bowyer was third, Jimmie Johnson was fifth and Daniel Hemric qualified 11th. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. will start 12th, Daniel Suarez was 18th and Ryan Newman will start in 22nd. All of these drivers face possible elimination in order to compete for the championship.

NBCSN coverage of the Big Machine Vodka 400 starts at 12:30 p.m. ET on NBCSN. They will switch over to regular NBC with Countdown To Green at 1:30 p.m. ET.

With potential threatening weather in the area and the potential for more, the start time of the race has been moved up to 2:05 p.m. ET.

Stages will be 50/50/60 laps to make up the 160 lap race.

Official Results

  1. Kevin Harvick
  2. Paul Menard
  3. Clint Bowyer
  4. Joey Logano
  5. Jimmie Johnson
  6. Brad Keselowski
  7. Kyle Busch
  8. Kurt Busch
  9. Ryan Blaney
  10. Aric Almirola
  11. Daniel Hemric
  12. Ricky Stenhouse Jr
  13. Alex Bowman
  14. Erik Jones
  15. Bubba Wallace
  16. Chris Buscher
  17. David Ragan
  18. Austin Dillon
  19. Kyle Larson
  20. Daniel Suarez
  21. Michael McDowell
  22. Ryan Newman
  23. Ryan Preece
  24. Chase Elliott
  25. Ty Dillon
  26. Matt DiBenedetto
  27. Martin Truex Jr
  28. Matt Tifft
  29. William Byron
  30. Corey LaJoie
  31. Landon Cassill
  32. Parker Kligerman
  33. Denny Hamlin
  34. Ross Chastain
  35. B.J. McLeod
  36. Ryan Sieg
  37. Reed Sorenson
  38. Garrett Smithley
  39. Josh Bilicki
  40. J.J. Yeley

Get 2 FREE stocks valued between $2.50-$1,400 when you open and fund a Webull brokerage account or earn 5% annual interest rate at Worthy.
The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of SpeedwayMedia.com.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here