Truck Series Joey Coulter to Drive for RCR's Second NCWTS Team in 2011

Joey Coulter to Drive for RCR’s Second NCWTS Team in 2011


WELCOME, N.C. (November 30, 2010) – Richard Childress Racing has signed Joey Coulter to drive its second NASCAR Camping World Truck Series team in 2011.

Coulter, 20, recently finished eighth in the 2010 ARCA Racing Series point standings, his second full season of competition, on the strength of his first series victory and six other top-five finishes. He also earned the Bill France Four Crown Award, which showcases driver talent on four distinct types of race tracks during the month of August. In 2009, his rookie year, the Miami Springs, Fla., native finished fourth in the point standings, earning two pole positions and seven top-five finishes. He will be the NCWTS teammate of Austin Dillon, who finished fourth and earned rookie-of-the-year honors in the series.

“We’re excited to have Joey Coulter join RCR and to expand our NASCAR Camping World Truck Series program in 2011,” said Richard Childress, president and CEO of Richard Childress Racing. “Joey is a very talented young driver who has had a lot of success in every series he’s competed in so he will be a great addition to our Truck Series program.”

Coulter made his racing debut in 1998 driving go-karts, winning more than 50 races and multiple Florida state championships through 2005. He graduated to the Florida FASTRUCK Series in late 2005 where, in less than two seasons, won four races and finished fifth in the 2006 point standings. He competed in the former USAR Hooters Pro Cup Series and the Whelen All American Late Model Series in 2007 and 2008, earning his first stock car victory in December 2008 at Southern National Raceway Park in Kenly, N.C.

“Driving for Richard Childress Racing is an unbelievable opportunity for me,” said Coulter. “My goal when I was a kid was to make it into NASCAR and to be able to do so with an organization like RCR is a dream come true. Austin and I raced together in the ARCA Series so we’ve had a chance to get to know each other a little. His team has obviously put together a great notebook from last season that we can tap into and, hopefully, we can push each other across the finish line for the win a couple of times.”

Further details of the program will be made at a later date.

About Richard Childress Racing

Richard Childress Racing has earned more than 180 victories and 12 NASCAR championships, including six in the Sprint Cup Series with the legendary Dale Earnhardt. RCR was the first organization to win championships in the Sprint Cup Series, Nationwide Series and Camping World Truck Series. Its 2010 Sprint Cup Series lineup includes Kevin Harvick (No. 29 Shell-Pennzoil Chevrolet), Jeff Burton (No. 31 Caterpillar Chevrolet) and Clint Bowyer (No. 33 Cheerios/Hamburger Helper Chevrolet). Bowyer drives the No. 21 Zaxby’s Chevrolet in the 2010 Nationwide Series, Austin Dillon drives the No. 3 Bass Pro Shops Chevrolet in the 2010 Camping World Truck Series and Tim George Jr. drives the No 31 RCR Development Chevrolet in the 2010 ARCA Racing Series presented by RE/MAX and Menards. Ty Dillon and Ryan Gifford are RCR developmental drivers in both asphalt and dirt track racing.
Shop for Official NASCAR Collectibles at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here