“Doc” Mattioli Nominated for the Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR

LONG POND, Pa. (March 14, 2019) – Dr. Joseph “Doc” Mattioli has been named as a nominee for the Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR. Pocono Raceway, the host of two NASCAR race weekends each summer, was founded by “Doc” and his wife Dr. Rose Mattioli. The Mattioli’s have owned and operated ‘The Tricky Triangle’ for over 50 years.

Mattioli Family: “Dr. Rose Mattioli, along with all four generations of the Mattioli and Igdalsky families would like to thank the Hall of Fame for nominating ‘Doc.” He was more than our father, grandfather and great-grandfather, but our inspiration to continue his legacy. Doc’s tenacity, fortitude and determination gave us a shining example of how to do business. His handshake was better than a contract. We have always attributed Sinatra’s song to Doc’s style – He did it ‘his’ way. He persevered through nearly two decades of bankruptcy and uncertainty with help of Bill France, Sr, his wife Annie B., and Bill France, Jr. If it had not been for their guidance and friendship, Pocono Raceway would not be here today. Doc is in our hearts and thoughts every day in all the decisions that we make … He may be gone, but he is always with us.”

The Landmark Award recipients could include competitors or those working the sport as a member of a racing organization, track facility, race team, sponsor, media partner or being a general ambassador for the sport through a professional or non-professional role. Award winners remain eligible for NASCAR Hall of Fame enshrinement. Voting for the 2020 Class of the NASCAR Hall of Fame, as well as the recipient of the Landmark Award, will be held on May 22, 2019.

The five nominees for the 2020 Landmark Award include (in alphabetical order): Edsel Ford II – member of the board of directions for Ford Motor Company; Alvin Hawkins – NASCAR’s first flagman and established NASCAR Racing at Bowman Gray Stadium; Mike Helton – named as the third President of NASCAR in 2000 and held previous roles at Atlanta Motor Speedway and Talladega Superspeedway; “Doc Mattioli – Co-Founder of Pocono Raceway; Ralph Seagraves – formed groundbreaking Winston-NASCAR partnership as an executive with R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company.

Shop the NASCAR Justice League Collection
Shop for 2017 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Gear at Store.NASCAR.com

Previous recipients of the Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR include Jim Hunter (2019), Jim France (2018), H. Clay Earles (2017), Harold Brasington (2016) and Anne Bledsoe France (2015).

For more details about the Landmark award, visit www.nascarhall.com/inductees/landmark-award.

About Pocono Raceway

Pocono Raceway, also known as ‘The Tricky Triangle,’ is family-owned and situated in the beautiful Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania. In business for over 50 years, the Raceway hosts multiple, national motorsports events including two Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series, one IndyCar Series, one NASCAR Xfinity Series, one NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series and two ARCA Racing Series Presented by Menards events each year. The facility’s calendar also consists of over 200 events, which includes “The Great Pocono Raceway Air Show,” the Warrior Dash, a wide-range of car clubs and racing schools. Pocono Raceway is recognized as the world’s first, privately-owned solar-powered sports facility. Their 25-acre, three-megawatt solar farm provides the energy needs of the Raceway, as well as, adds electricity to the local power grid. Each member of our raceway staff is committed to creating exciting experiences and lifelong memories. For more information, please visit www.poconoraceway.com.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here