Roush Fenway Advance – Phoenix

[media-credit name=”” align=”alignright” width=”300″][/media-credit]Roush Fenway Advance –

Phoenix International Raceway , 1-mile

Subway Fresh Fit 500

American Muscle

Sun. 3.4.12, 3:14 p.m. EST

FOX TV, MRN, Sirius 90

Greg Biffle, No. 16 3M Ford

Matt Kenseth, No. 17 Best Buy Ford

Carl Edwards, No. 99 Subway Ford

Bashas 200

Sat. 3.3.12, 4:00 p.m. EST

ESPN2 TV, MRN, Sirius 90

Ricky Stenhouse Jr., No. 6 RFR 25 Winning Years Ford

Trevor Bayne, No. 60 Ford EcoBoost Ford

Daytona Dominance, RFR Heads to Valley of the Sun

Roush Fenway heads west to Phoenix coming off an impressive performance at Daytona Speedweeks that saw the team dominate the charts, claim its second Daytona 500 trophy and collect its historic 300th victory.

Got 300? Jack Does

With Matt Kenseth’s climatic win in the season opening Daytona 500, Roush Fenway Racing earned its historic and record-extending 300th NASCAR victory. The organization’s 300 NASCAR wins have been accumulated over the last 25 years and with 17 different drivers behind the wheel. Roush Fenway’s first win came on Oct. 22, 1989 with Mark Martin at Rockingham Speedway.

Doing it in Daytona

A Roush Fenway driver has now driven into victory lane in three of the last four Daytona 500s (Kenseth ‘09, ‘12)(Bayne, ‘11) Kenseth followed up his Daytona 500 victory in 2009 by winning the following week at California; he will look to accomplish the same feat this weekend in Phoenix.


Roush Fenway has started 213 combined NASCAR races at PIR, collecting 16 wins (6 Cup, 8 NNS, 2 CWTS), 68 top fives and 114 top 10s, while leading 3,814 laps.

Winning in the Valley

Roush Fenway has won at Phoenix in all three of NASCAR’s major divisions, with the organization’s first win coming in the fall of 1993. Roush Fenway won the second-ever Nationwide race at PIR in 2000, and the organization has won four of the last seven NNS events at PIR. In addition, Greg Biffle claimed Roush Fenway’s 100th overall Nationwide win at Phoenix in 2009 and Carl Edwards won there in the fall to give Roush Fenway the sweep. All in all, six drivers have won NASCAR races for Roush Fenway at PIR. In addition, Carl Edwards swept Phoenix in the fall of 2010, winning both the Nationwide and Sprint Cup races.

Sprint Cup Effort at PIR

Roush Fenway has started 118 Sprint Cup races at Phoenix, while finishing inside the top 10 with almost 50 percent of the entries (52). In addition, Roush Fenway cars have led 2,090 laps and drove to victory lane on six occasions.

Nationwide Effort at PIR

Phoenix is one of the strongest tracks for Roush Fenway’s Nationwide program. In 59 starts, RFR has won eight times, while finishing inside the top five almost half of the time (23) and inside the top 10 an impressive 68 percent of the time (41), while leading 1,390 laps. Roush has won four of the past six NNS events at Phoenix.

RFR Phoenix Wins

1993    Martin              Cup

2000    Burton             Cup

2001    Burton             Cup

2002    Kenseth           Cup

2005-1 Busch              Cup

2010-2 Edwards          Cup

2000    Burton             NNS

2001    Biffle                NNS

2005-2 Edwards          NNS

2006-2 Kenseth           NNS

2008-2 Edwards          NNS

2009-1 Biffle                NNS

2009-2 Edwards          NNS

2010-2 Edwards          NNS

1997-2 Ruttman          Truck

2001    Biffle                Truck

Get 2 FREE stocks valued between $2.50-$1,400 when you open and fund a Webull brokerage account or earn 5% annual interest rate at Worthy.
The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here