25 Winning Years: Roush Fenway Hot Bet in Vegas

[media-credit name=”lvms.com” align=”alignright” width=”300″][/media-credit]Roush Fenway has won half of the Sprint Cup Races at LVMS

LAS VEGAS, Nev. (March 7, 2012) – Perhaps no track on the NASCAR circuit exhibits Roush Fenway’s ’25 Winning Years’ dominance better than Las Vegas Motor Speedway, where RFR has won exactly half of the 14 Sprint Cup races at the 1.5-mile track.

From the moment Roush Fenway hit the pavement at LVMS, great results have been harvested by Jack Roush’s multi-car racing operation. Roush Fenway enters this weekend as the defending winner in the Sprint Cup race, having won its 15th NASCAR event at LVMS in 2012.

American Muscle

“Over the years we’ve had more success at Las Vegas than most places, and our intention is to go there and expand on our performance there this weekend,” said Jack Roush. “It was a great honor to win the first race there in 1998, and we continue to look forward to going there, because we’ve had so much success there, winning with Mark (Martin), (Jeff) Burton, Matt (Kenseth) and Carl (Edwards).

Roush Fenway won the inaugural Sprint Cup event at Las Vegas in 1998 (leading 119 laps in the process), but it fielded the race’s runner up, while placing three cars in the top five (Martin 1st, Burton 2nd, Johnny Benson 4th) and five cars in the top 10 (Ted Musgrave 6th, Chad Little 10th). To this day the performance is one of the strongest in the team’s “25 Winning Years” in NASCAR. The win was the second for Roush Fenway at Vegas, as the team won the truck race there in 1997 with Joe Ruttman.

The win would go on to be just one of the more eventful 15 NASCAR victories for Roush Fenway at Vegas, and it would prove to be a springboard for a track that is considered one of the team’s strongest.

This year Roush will look for back-to-back wins in the Sprint Cup Series at LVMS for the fourth time, having accomplished the feat in 1998-1999, 1999-2000 and 2003-2004. RFR won the first three Sprint Cup events at LVMS and three of the first five NNS races there.

“As evidenced by Carl’s win there and our strong performance a season ago Las Vegas has been, and continues to be one of the strongest tracks on the circuit for us; as is that style of track in general.

“One of our team strengths after two decades is our performance at the mile-and-a-half race tracks,” added Roush. “We like to think we are more in control of what happens on the race track and being able to orchestrate a good outcome based on strategy, the quality of work in the shop and the quality of people behind the program. The strength of our drivers and the people behind the programs have been well suited for Las Vegas and that style of racing and we are anxious to get out there this weekend.”

Roush Fenway will look for its 16th and 17th wins at Las Vegas this weekend. Four drivers have won a total of seven Sprint Cup races for Roush Fenway at LVMS: Martin, Burton (twice), Edwards (twice) and Kenseth (twice). The organization also boasts five Nationwide wins at Vegas: Martin twice, Burton twice and Greg Biffle. Biffle also has one of Roush Fenway’s three wins in the Truck Series at Vegas (Joe Ruttman and Travis Kvapil).

Biffle could become the first Roush Fenway driver to win in all three series at Las Vegas, with a win there this weekend in the Sprint Cup race. The organization will field five entries in the two events this weekend, with two entries in Saturday’s Nationwide race and three in Sunday’s Sprint Cup event.

Saturday’s Nationwide race is set for 4:00 p.m. EST and will be televised live on ESPN2. Sunday’s Sprint Cup event is slated for 3:00 p.m. EDT on FOX.

Roush Fenway Las Vegas Wins

1998     Martin              Cup

1999     Burton             Cup

2000     Burton             Cup

2003     Kenseth           Cup

2004     Kenseth           Cup

2008     Edwards          Cup

2011     Edwards          Cup

1999     Martin             NNS

2000     Burton             NNS

2002     Burton             NNS

2005     Martin              NNS

2009     Biffle               NNS

1997     Ruttman          CWTS

1999     Biffle               CWTS

2007     Kvapil              CWTS

About Roush Fenway Racing

Roush Fenway Racing is the winningest team in NASCAR history, fielding multiple teams in the Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series with championship drivers Carl Edwards, Matt Kenseth, Greg Biffle, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Trevor Bayne. Celebrating 25 winning years in 2012, Roush Fenway is the leader in NASCAR marketing solutions, pioneering its exclusive Roush Fenway OnTrack sponsorship measurement services, motorsport’s first team-focused TV show and its award-winning social marketing channel RickyvsTrevor.com. Visit www.RoushFenway.com, become a fan on Facebook at www.facebook.com/roushfenway and follow on Twitter at @roushfenway. For sponsorship inquiries call John Bauersfeld at 704.720.4621.

Get 2 FREE stocks valued between $2.50-$1,400 when you open and fund a Webull brokerage account or earn 5% annual interest rate at Worthy.
The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of SpeedwayMedia.com.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here