Stenhouse Jr. Rolls in ‘Roush’ Vegas; Collects RFR’s 16th NASCAR Win at LVMS

[media-credit name=”David Yeazell” align=”alignright” width=”276″][/media-credit]Bayne fourth; RFR places two Fords in Top-five

LAS VEGAS, Nev. (March 10, 2012) – Ricky Stenhouse Jr. continued Roush Fenway’s dominance at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, taking the lead with 54 laps to go in Saturday’s Nationwide Series race and never looking back, pulling away from veteran Mark Martin in his No. 6 EcoBoost Ford Mustang to win in dominating fashion at the 1.5-mile tri-oval oval.

The victory is Roush Fenway’s 16th NASCAR win at Vegas and its sixth in the Nationwide Series. Stenhouse became the fourth driver to win for RFR at LVMS (Martin, Jeff Burton and Greg Biffle) in the NNS and the eighth to win a NASCAR event for Roush Fenway in Vegas. Ironically, the future pulled away from the past in the event, as Martin won Roush Fenway’s first Sprint Cup event at LVMS in 1998 and two more times in the Nationwide Series in 1999 and 2005.

American Muscle

“It was really cool,” said Stenhouse in victory lane. “Looking at all the fans in the stands that came out was pretty cool before the race and to win here was great.  Our Ford EcoBoost Mustang was not as good as we wanted at the start of the race.  If you would have listened to our radio, I’m sure (crew chief) Mike (Kelly) over here was tired of listening to me, but he kept taking notes of what I was saying and made it better. The guys on pit road did an awesome job to get us out first and that really helped to win us that race.”

Roush Fenway’s Trevor Bayne might have had the fastest car on the track in the final laps of the race, slashing through the field for a fourth-place finish.

It was the third career Nationwide Series win for Stenhouse and the 125 for RFR. Roush Fenway Racing has now visited victory lane in 12 of the last 16 seasons at LVMS. The win was Roush Fenway’s record-extending 301st NASCAR victory and its second this season.

The team will look for its 17th Las Vegas win in tomorrow’s Sprint Cup race. The event is slated for 3:00 p.m. EDT on FOX.

Roush Fenway Las Vegas Wins

1998    Martin             Cup

1999    Burton            Cup

2000    Burton            Cup

2003    Kenseth          Cup

2004    Kenseth          Cup

2008    Edwards         Cup

2011    Edwards         Cup

1999    Martin             NNS

2000    Burton            NNS

2002    Burton            NNS

2005    Martin             NNS

2009    Biffle               NNS

2011    Stenhouse      NNS

1997    Ruttman         CWTS

1999    Biffle               CWTS

2007    Kvapil             CWTS

About Roush Fenway Racing

Roush Fenway Racing is the winningest team in NASCAR history, fielding multiple teams in the Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series with championship drivers Carl Edwards, Matt Kenseth, Greg Biffle, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Trevor Bayne. Celebrating 25 winning years in 2012, Roush Fenway is the leader in NASCAR marketing solutions, pioneering its exclusive Roush Fenway OnTrack sponsorship measurement services, motorsport’s first team-focused TV show and its award-winning social marketing channel Visit, become a fan on Facebook at and follow on Twitter at @roushfenway. For sponsorship inquiries call John Bauersfeld at 704.720.4621.

Get 2 FREE stocks valued between $2.50-$1,400 when you open and fund a Webull brokerage account or earn 5% annual interest rate at Worthy.
The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here