Lap by Lap: Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach won by Will Power

[media-credit name=”Jeff Gross/Getty Images” align=”alignright” width=”275″][/media-credit]Will Power came from 12th to 1st and conserved enough fuel in the final 30 laps to score his second consecutive win of the season.


Green Flag

American Muscle

Caution Lap 1 as Josef Newgarden and Dario Franchitti make contact

Restart Lap 4 as Dario Franchitti gets a good jump, but Justin Wilson makes the pass on Franchitti.

Lap 5 Helio Castroneves passes Simona De Silvestro.

Lap 6 Wilson leads Franchitti, Pagenaud, Sato, Dixon, Kimball, Rahal, Hunter-Reay, Conway and Briscoe.

Lap 8 Marco Andretti pits

Lap 12 Tony Kanaan pits

Lap 14 Wilson leads Pagenaud, Sato, Franchitti, Dixon, Kimball, Rahal, Hunter-Reay, Conway and Briscoe. Dixon passes Franchitti for fourth.

Lap 20 Sebastian Bourdais into the tires as there is a full course caution as Justin Wilson pits from the lead. Takumo Sato takes the lead.  Pagenaud hits a tire that is inside somebody else’s pit stall so he will have a penalty.

Lap 21 Sato leads Franchitti and Hunter-Reay.

Restart Lap 23 as Franchitti has a terrible start; Sato gets a good jump on the start and holds the lead over Hunter-Reay. Alex Tagliani has a flat tire, going off the run-off area. Marco Andretti gets into the barrier hard, bringing out the caution as Graham Rahal gets some damage. The replay shows Andretti catapulting over the right rear of Rahal. Katherine Legge also gets in the tires. JR Hildebrand pits under the caution.

Lap 25 Mike Conway stalls on the backstretch as Sato leads Hunter-Reay, Briscoe, Franchitti, Hinchcliffe, Castroneves, Wilson, Pagenaud, Kanaan and Kimball. Bourdais returns to the race track after his early trouble.

Lap 27 Dixon has stalled. Sato pitted, handing the lead over to Hunter-Reay.

Lap 28 Hunter-Reay and Hinchcliffe pit, handing the lead to Briscoe.

Restart Lap 31 Briscoe gets a good start; Briscoe and Franchitti make contact as Briscoe pulls ahead. Franchitti has front wing damage.

Lap 32 Briscoe leads Castroneves, Franchitti, Pagenaud, Kanaan, Wilson, Kimball, Sato, Jakes and Power.

Lap 34 Sato passes Kimball

Lap 35 Briscoe, Franchitti, Castroneves pit to hand the lead over to Pagenaud

Lap 36 Pagenaud leads Kanaan, Wilson, Sato, Jakes, Power, Kimball, Barrichello, Hildebrand, and Hunter-Reay

Lap 38 Viso serves a penalty for avoidable contact after instant with Tagliani.

Lap 40 Pagenaud leads Kanaan, Wilson, Sato, Jakes, Power, Kimball, Barrichello, Hilderbrand, Hunter-Reay

Lap 41 Power passes Jakes fifth

Lap 42 Kanaan pits from second while Pagenaud leads.

38 to go Pagenaud leads Sato, Wilson, Power, Jakes, Kimball, Barrichello, Hildebrand, Hunter-Reay, Hinchcliffe; Mike Conway has a problem as the car stalls; Simona De Silvestro pits

37 to go Pagenaud pits to hand the lead over to Sato; James Jakes pits

36 to go Power passes Wilson for second as Sato leads

35 to go Sato leads Power, Wilson, Kimball and Barrichello

33 to go Castroneves has damage on the front wing, needing a new one under the pit stop.

32 to go Charlie Kimball pits as Sato continues to lead Power

31 to go Power pits

30 to go Sato leads Hildebrand, Hunter-Reay, Hinchcliffe, Pagenaud, Kanaan, Power, Wilson, Jakes and Barrichello

29 to go Sato and Hildebrand pit, handing the lead over to Hunter-Reay. Hunter-Reay leads over Hinchcliffe, Pagenaud, Kanaan, Sato, Power, Wilson, Jakes, Barrichello and Hildebrand.

28 to go Hunter-Reay and Hinchcliffe pit, handing the lead over to Pagenaud.

27 to go Briscoe pits as Pagenaud leads Kanaan, Sato, Power, Wilson, Jakes, Barrichello, Hildebrand, Kimball and Castroneves.

26 to go Power passes Sato for third.

25 to go Viso pits as Jakes passes Wilson

22 to go Pagenaud leads Power, Sato, Jakes, Wilson, Barrichello, Hildebrand, Kimball, Hunter-Reay and Hinchcliffe

16 to go Pagenaud goes down pit road as Power takes the lead.

15 to go Power leads Sato, Barrichello, Pagenaud, Hildebrand, Jakes, Kimball, Hunter-Reay, Wilson and Hinchcliffe

10 to go Power leads Sato, Pagenaud, Barrichello, Hildebrand, Hunter-Reay, Kimball, Wilson, Hinchcliffe and Kanaan. Simona de Silvestro on pit road with more problems.

7 to go Barrichello pits for fuel only out of the fourth position. So now it is Power leading Sato, Pagenaud, Hildebrand, Hunter-Reay, Kimball, Wilson, Hinchcliffe, Kanaan and Barrichello.

6 to go Pagenaud passes Sato for second

5 to go Charlie Kimball comes down the pits as he has issues.

4 to go Wilson dives to pit road

3 to go Power leads Pagenaud, Sato, Hunter-Reay, Hinchcliffe, Hildebrand, Kanaan, Barrichello, Castroneves and Briscoe. / Kanaan passes Hildebrand for sixth

Last Lap – Sato spins after contact from Hunter-Reay.

Will Power wins over Pagenaud, Hunter-Reay, Hinchcliffe, Kanaan, Hildebrand as a wreck happens in the last lap involving Castroneves, Oriol Servia and James Jakes. Hunter-Reay given a 30 second penalty, therefore resulting in him being moved back to sixth.

Get 2 FREE stocks valued between $2.50-$1,400 when you open and fund a Webull brokerage account or earn 5% annual interest rate at Worthy.
The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here