Most Popular Driver’ Finalists Unveiled 10 Drivers Locked in For Final Voting

[media-credit name=”Dan Sanger” align=”alignright” width=”224″][/media-credit]DARLINGTON, S.C. (September 12, 2012) – The National Motorsports Press Association (NMPA) announced the finalists for the NASCAR Most Popular Driver Award today. With more than a half-million votes cast, the top 10 drivers that earned the most votes will now be reset to zero with voting continuing over the next 10 weeks, coinciding with the NASCAR Chase for the Sprint Cup.

The 10 finalists are, in alphabetical order: Kyle Busch, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards, Jeff Gordon, Kevin Harvick, Jimmie Johnson, Kasey Kahne, Matt Kenseth, Bobby Labonte and Tony Stewart.

Fans now have 10 race weeks to cast their vote once a day at to determine the winner from the final 10 drivers. Voting will conclude Nov. 18 at 11:59 PM ET and the winner will be announced at the NASCAR NMPA Myers Brothers Luncheon in November.

American Muscle

Dale Earnhardt Jr. collected his ninth consecutive Most Popular Driver award at the end of the 2011 campaign, joining Bill Elliott as the only drivers to win the award eight years straight. Elliott holds the record for most consecutive Most Popular Driver wins with 10, and he also holds the record for total wins with 16. He removed himself from voting after earning the honor the 16th time.

“The voice of the fan continues to be heard through the Most Popular Driver award,” said Rea White, NMPA president. “These drivers are each great representatives of the sport and of its fan base.”

For more information, and to vote on the NASCAR NMPA Most Popular Driver Award, fans should log on to

Get 2 FREE stocks valued between $2.50-$1,400 when you open and fund a Webull brokerage account or earn 5% annual interest rate at Worthy.
The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here