Tyler Reddick Captures First Career Truck Series Pole at Talladega

Tyler Reddick won the 21 Means 21 Pole Award Friday afternoon at Talladega Superspeedway in his Brad Keselowski Racing No. 19 Ford, with a fast lap of 186.827 mph. It is Reddick’s first career pole in 13 starts in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series.

“It means a lot to get a pole in my rookie year,” Reddick said. “It’s great to start up front, especially at Talladega.”

The 18-year-old Reddick will be joined on the first row by Tayler Malsam in his No. 32 Chevrolet, in second place. This is Malsam’s best starting position in 49 truck series races. Matt Crafton, who currently leads the points standings, will start third followed by Johnny Sauter and Ryan Blaney to round out the top five.

American Muscle

Malsam spoke about the revamped qualifying procedure saying, “The format’s crazy, you have to really hustle around the apron, which makes it a lot different from most of the racetracks.”  He continued, “It adds a lot of excitement for the fans.”

Friday’s qualifying featured the new accelerated format for restrictor-plate tracks. The first session consisted of two groups, each with only five minutes to make qualifying laps. Mason Mingus was fastest overall in the first session.

Erik Jones led the second session with the fastest qualifying lap in the history of the Truck Series, 191.161 mph.

Darrell Wallace Jr., fourth in the series standings, had a disappointing qualifying effort and will begin the race in the 27th position. It is the worst starting position of his career. Milka Duno did not qualify after an engine failure in practice Friday.

Reddick will lead the field to green Saturday for the Fred’s 250 Powered by Coca-Cola. The race will be televised on FOX at 1 p.m. ET.

Complete Starting Lineup:

1 19 Tyler Reddick
2 32 Tayler Malsam
3 88 Matt Crafton
4 98 Johnny Sauter
5 29 Ryan Blaney
6 51 Erik Jones
7 13 Jeb Burton
8 8 Joe Nemechek
9 5 John Wes Townley
10 15 Mason Mingus
11 84 Chris Fontaine
12 77 German Quiroga Jr
13 31 Ben Kennedy
14 9 Ron Hornaday Jr
15 20 Brennan Newberry
16 21 Joey Coulter
17 35 Daniel Suarez
18 8 Jimmy Weller III
19 99 Bryan Silas
20 68 Clay Greenfield
21 23 Spencer Gallagher
22 39 Ryan Sieg
23 6 Norm Benning
24 10 Jennifer Jo Cobb
25 2 Tyler Young
26 17 Timothy Peters
27 54 Darrell Wallace Jr
28 28 Ryan Ellis
29 7 Korbin Forrister
30 63 Scott Stenzel
31 5 Cody Ware
32 50 Derek White
33 3 Michael Affarano
34 36 Justin Jennings
35 74 Mike Harmon
36 1 Milka Duno




The views and opinions expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of SpeedwayMedia.com.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here